Hobby, 3D, Relief, CNC  

[ Új üzenetek · Tagok · Fórumszabályzat · Keresés · RSS ]
Oldal 1 / 11
A fórum moderátora: KisKZ, tweakie, Amatőr 
Fórum » Only in English » Mach3 related issues » Settings (Mach3 software setup)
Settings
Amatőr Dátum/Date: Csütörtök, 2015-03-26, 06:33 | Üzenet/Post # 1
alapkő
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 2207
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 3
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Setup, settings


H1i.hu
 
Amatőr Dátum/Date: Csütörtök, 2015-03-26, 06:36 | Üzenet/Post # 2
alapkő
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 2207
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 3
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Hello boys!
Can anybody describe how the Mach3 step pulse width settings work?
What is the initial width? How the Step pulse setting change it? What the Sherline mode exactly do?


H1i.hu
 
tweakie Dátum/Date: Csütörtök, 2015-03-26, 07:58 | Üzenet/Post # 3
alapvető tag
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 972
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 5
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Hi Zoltan,

It’s one of those settings that is found by ‘trial and error’. Some drivers prefer a wider (or narrower) pulse width than others so it
is usual to experiment to find which setting works best with your set-up (2uS is the most common setting).


Sherline mode automatically sets this to it’s maximum value.

Hope this helps.

Tweakie.


Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
 
Amatőr Dátum/Date: Csütörtök, 2015-03-26, 08:17 | Üzenet/Post # 4
alapkő
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 2207
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 3
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Hi Tweakie!

On some forums I found that the initial width (when the pulse width window value is zero) is 2-3µs. Any value what is is written into this window is added to this. The real step pulse lenght is increasable up to 20µs. Without an oscilloscope I don't know if it is true.
The value in the window can be up to 15, I read, but I'm not sure about the upper limit.
What can be the maximum value the Sherline mode causes? 20~40µs? Or is it depending on the PC?


H1i.hu
 
Amatőr Dátum/Date: Csütörtök, 2015-03-26, 08:22 | Üzenet/Post # 5
alapkő
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 2207
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 3
Helyzet/Status: Offline
I'm just searching the connection between the software settings, and the real pulse width, because it is not well documented.

H1i.hu
 
tweakie Dátum/Date: Csütörtök, 2015-03-26, 09:03 | Üzenet/Post # 6
alapvető tag
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 972
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 5
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Hi Zoltan,

This is all bit of a grey area.  wacko

Yes, the settings window will allow an increase in pulse width up to 15uS.
Sherline mode will ignore any figure in the settings window and set a pulse width of 40uS at a kernel speed of 25kHz (this width will vary dependent on the kernel speed setting).

Tweakie.


Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
 
Amatőr Dátum/Date: Csütörtök, 2015-03-26, 11:27 | Üzenet/Post # 7
alapkő
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 2207
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 3
Helyzet/Status: Offline
tweakie, thank You, these are helpful infos.
I wonder if anyone made a correct measuements about the real pulse width vs. the available settings. I couldn't find something like that on the net.


H1i.hu
 
tweakie Dátum/Date: Csütörtök, 2015-03-26, 12:46 | Üzenet/Post # 8
alapvető tag
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 972
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 5
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Hi Zoltan,

As it is a ‘trial and error’ type of setting (we use whatever works best) it’s possible that the real (actual) pulse width in uS may
not be useful information so nobody has really bothered to measure or document it.

If it’s any help, a couple of years back I carried out a number of measurements with setting-up the Engraving plugin (which uses the
axis step pulses for the laser/magnet trigger) and my results are shown in this
document  http://hobbymaro.puhasoft.hu/Tweakie/Engraving.pdf

Tweakie.


Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
 
Amatőr Dátum/Date: Csütörtök, 2015-03-26, 19:04 | Üzenet/Post # 9
alapkő
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 2207
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 3
Helyzet/Status: Offline
tweakie, You're right, when it works nobody is really interested enough to measure. My first thought was that Mach has so many users, maybe there is someone who did it. The original problem was to determine the settings for a TB6560 based stepper driver, but the 'trial and error" method will be used as the others do.
In Your document this step widths:

is true when Sherline mode is on?
Csatolások/Attachments: 7450942.jpg(8Kb)


H1i.hu
 
tweakie Dátum/Date: Péntek, 2015-03-27, 06:52 | Üzenet/Post # 10
alapvető tag
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 972
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 5
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Hi Zoltan,

Yes sir, these are the step pulse widths you can expect when Sherline 1/2 Pulse mode is selected.

(As a qualifier - because of many revisions, not all versions of Mach3 may behave in exactly the same way. My measurements were carried out with version R3.043.056).

Tweakie.


Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
 
Amatőr Dátum/Date: Péntek, 2015-03-27, 13:35 | Üzenet/Post # 11
alapkő
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 2207
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 3
Helyzet/Status: Offline
tweakie, thanks a lot!

H1i.hu
 
Fórum » Only in English » Mach3 related issues » Settings (Mach3 software setup)
Oldal 1 / 11
Keresés:

Copyright HobbyCnCArt © 2016