Hobby, 3D, Relief, CNC  

[ Új üzenetek · Tagok · Fórumszabályzat · Keresés · RSS ]
Oldal 1 / 11
A fórum moderátora: KisKZ, tweakie, Amatőr 
Fórum » Only in English » Mach3 related issues » Random E Stop. (A problem that can be difficult to trace.)
Random E Stop.
tweakie Dátum/Date: Szombat, 2012-01-21, 10:19 | Üzenet/Post # 1
alapvető tag
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 979
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 5
Helyzet/Status: Offline
A problem, sometimes found with newly built machines is a random occurrence of the E Stop function, which is especially annoying when it happens midway through a long program. Probably the most common causes are mechanical vibration tripping one of the limit switches, poor connection / wiring to a limit or E Stop switch or electrical noise picked up on the wiring. The switches can be tested for poor contact pressure by lightly tapping them in different directions (with something about the weight of an aa size battery) and seeing if this trips the E Stop – If it trips then replace the switch (preferably with a better quality component). The wiring can then be visually inspected, terminals tested for tightness and any soldered joints also visually inspected etc.
If the E Stop is caused by a short duration pulse (such as electrical noise) then increasing the Debounce Interval (General Logic Configuration page) can prevent this problem but it is really only masking the issue and the root cause should be tackled. The easiest, cheapest and best solution I have found and this can save hours of work, is to fit a 0.1uF miniature ceramic capacitor between each switch input (on the breakout board or controller board end of the wire) and Ground (GND). These capacitors suppress any voltage spikes that have been picked up on the switch wiring and so prevent a false trigger of the E Stop function.

Tweakie.


Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
 
elektron Dátum/Date: Szombat, 2012-01-21, 23:19 | Üzenet/Post # 2
aktív tag
Csoport/Group: Felhasználók
Üzenetek/Posts: 232
Kitüntetések/Medals: 1
Hírnév/Fame: 2
Helyzet/Status: Offline
That is not a bad solution for this type of problem.
 
Jozs Dátum/Date: Vasárnap, 2012-01-22, 00:08 | Üzenet/Post # 3
aktív tag
Csoport/Group: Felhasználók
Üzenetek/Posts: 209
Kitüntetések/Medals: 0
Hírnév/Fame: 1
Helyzet/Status: Offline
tweakie,
good idea, but I think it would be default ( capacitor or other filter elements ) in the input section of every _well_designed_ controller board.


Az üzenetet módosította/Modified by Jozs - Vasárnap, 2012-01-22, 00:11
 
tweakie Dátum/Date: Vasárnap, 2012-01-22, 08:58 | Üzenet/Post # 4
alapvető tag
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 979
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 5
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Hi Jozs,

Yes indeed sir, you are quite correct and these capacitors should, in my opinion, be included in the design of the controller board.
Unfortunately they don't seem to be fitted to the low price (imported from China) boards. sad

Tweakie.


Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
 
tweakie Dátum/Date: Szerda, 2013-02-20, 13:27 | Üzenet/Post # 5
alapvető tag
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 979
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 5
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Another annoying issue which can often cause unexpected machine stops is when the watchdog timer is running.

This function was probably of use during Mach3 development but it currently serves no useful purpose during program execution so it should always be turned off.

Config /General Config – uncheck the ‘Use WatchDogs’ box.

Tweakie.


Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
 
tweakie Dátum/Date: Vasárnap, 2013-02-24, 12:26 | Üzenet/Post # 6
alapvető tag
Csoport/Group: Adminisztrátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 979
Kitüntetések/Medals: 6
Hírnév/Fame: 5
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Whilst thinking about random stops…

Something else that can cause problems (probably dependant on the PC graphics card capabilities) when running very long programs (a few hundred thousand lines of GCode) is an unexpected lock-up in the program execution.

The cure has been found, when running long programs, to turn off the Toolpath Display (bottom left in Diagnostics screen) before hitting Cycle Start.

Tweakie.


Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
 
csewe Dátum/Date: Vasárnap, 2013-02-24, 15:18 | Üzenet/Post # 7
Fontos tag
Csoport/Group: Moderátorok
Üzenetek/Posts: 596
Kitüntetések/Medals: 3
Hírnév/Fame: 1
Helyzet/Status: Offline
Idézet (tweakie)
to turn off the Toolpath Display


It is a good idea.
I frequently use it because my computer is a low speed.
 
Fórum » Only in English » Mach3 related issues » Random E Stop. (A problem that can be difficult to trace.)
Oldal 1 / 11
Keresés:

Copyright HobbyCnCArt © 2017